A Taste of Freedom, A Taste of Love–This poem is yours!

Thanks to everyone who contributed to our potluck poem. We are so grateful and so full. Everyone’s words on freedom were inspiring and made us proud to be a part of Live Unchained.

We are also happy that some of you were motivated to share more than the 1 to 2 lines we suggested. Unfortunately, we couldn’t include every word from you free spirits that could not contain your thoughts. Some edits were made here and there to the longer contributions to unify and tighten the piece.

We also want to shout out Farai Chideya and Pete Chatmon for their lines. Their words, like all of yours, were encouraging and meaningful. If there are any talented people that you admire, it is worth it to reach out to them–they just might respond and be happy to do so.

The incredible poet and model, Tiffany Okafor, read the poem for us. See her performance below. You can also download the full poem here: Live Unchained Poem 3-9-10

Don’t forget about our poetry contest. Contact us for more details.

“A Taste of Freedom, A Taste of Love.”

I will speak.

I will listen.

I will move as if it was written.

I will love as if my living depended on it

I am love. A noun, a verb. Pure love.

the sky is the limit.

I will fly like a bird.

I’ll walk below the joyous glow

Wind laced within a cheetah’s speed.

Freedom to live MY way

Unconstrained by time or false expectations

Freedom isn’t free.

With our minds we breaks chains
but with our hearts we heal pain.

Allowing, knowing, honoring my power

and reminding others of the power within them.

I know of my ancestors so, I know who I am.

I am free because of those before me.

The power to dream, to reach, to grasp

Always within reach—that dream.

I take, under my wings, all of humankind
and press to my heart and soothe with my soul.

In my dream i see chocolate, cocoa brown, golden brown, and alabaster hues of black women marching together for sisterhood solidarity and i begin to cry…

Love and Freedom are verbs.

It’s the simple things that remind me,

I’m free.

I will hold on to my names so that I may remember who I am, my calling

be
unfettered
unchained
unbound

Illusive, yet constantly sought.
For in collective freedom, the pursuit of one’s happiness must never come at the expense of another.

Sagas of minimum wage,

a quarter for me as I slave

worthy of love
open to peace
no fear of goodness

your enemies seem like cartoon characters now… all that office drama gone with a pink slip

you toiled but did not despise

…because freedom means acknowledging that pink elephant in the room and…

the dark caverns of the soul

Each second breathing inside this vessel is freedom…

Freedom to is being true to your desires. If you’re not true, then you are caged.

and when this vessel cracks
it is freedom that mends it
so injustice can’t find its way in…

The skin you wear-my deepest fears.

shouting at the top of my lungs
crying until i can’t breathe
i’m free.

Freedom is being too confident in your divinely inspired talents and abilities to fear disappointing others at the expense of your personal happiness.

Freedom is learning that mistakes are inevitable, but making certain that each subsequent misstep is a brand new one.

when you look in the mirror and the reflection makes you smile — you are free.

Freedom is a flamer and a diva who has embraced all that s/he is and has given herself license to sing, to dance and say whatever she wants, how she wants b/c she is free.

Approval from myself, to myself, of myself.

I speak Freedom in the names of those from whom it was stolen

I speak Freedom in the light of the path we’re on to know it

Fearless ..You thought you had power..
Elevated…Cuz I am ME…

winding through the seams, blurring the lens of clarity…

Freedom is and freedom aint…

To be free is to be me

To know love is to taste freedom.
and to embrace it, unabashedly and wholeheartedly.

enslavement does not erase the freedom that preceded it.

the presence of a lie does not negate the truth that existed before it.

freedom cannot be just me in my eyes
free others, now, to free our lives

be brave . . . take my hand
 let’s find it together

One response to “A Taste of Freedom, A Taste of Love–This poem is yours!

  1. Wow. It stands up great. A fine piece indeed.

Leave a Reply

