Dreams are the realest things in life…

They are so serious, powerful and unstoppable.

Dreams never simply go from our minds to multi-millions; everyone goes through a transition period. I recently had a lesson about this, which also explained that some of us get lost in the transition phase–times when we experience a series of challenges and slow-motion progress and begin to think that the closest we’ll get to our dreams is the fantasy. Transition can feel like torture.

Harlem Renaissance artist Georgia Douglas Johnson captures this feeling well in, “My Little Dreams.”

I’m folding up my little dreams

Within my heart tonight,

And praying I may soon forget

The torture of their sight.

For time’s deft fingers scroll my brow

With fell relentless art—

I’m folding up my little dreams

Tonight, within my heart.

This poem is just as sad as it is universal. It reminds me of another lesson. Imagine your dream as a $100 dollar bill. If you had folded and unfolded it a million times, it would be wrinkled, but it would still be worth $100. I thought many of my dreams wouldn’t become realities because I had second-guessed or made too many mistakes. Truth is, every noted artist (I said artist and not star), is just someone who survived the transition periods of hopelessness to keep their hearts open.

We at Live Unchained, as with many of our friends, are in a transition/grinding/working-like-the-rent-is-due phase right now. We try to remember that life has its cycles and transition periods do end. They were meant to end. As Lauryn Hill sang: “After winter, must come spring, change it comes eventually…Tomorrow our seeds will grow.” But, before breaking the record for first-week sales for a female artist and winning five grammies for The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, Lauryn Hill sang and lost at the Apollo.

But, she made it through the transition. And, of course, Lauryn has had her challenges, like we all do, but she comes through with beautiful pieces to share.

Dreams are the realest things in life. Live Unchained.

2 responses to “Dreams are the realest things in life…

  1. uptown beauty

    What inspiration to wake-up to! Thanks, I needed that!

  2. I’m glad that you referenced the poem “My Little Dreams”. I’d never heard it before, but it reminds me of what is so important about Living Unchained: acknowledging our vulnerability. I think we all feel like putting our dreams away sometimes, and maybe we do for a time. I certainly have and do. Acknowledging it somehow makes it okay, like we can carry on. I appreciate this truth-telling.

Leave a Reply

